SMILE

The cure to many things; a smile.

I travel a lot, from home to University it takes me an hour and 30 mins by catching two buses and a 15 minute walk. Coming and going, all together that’s about 3 hours and 30 minutes of travelling from one town to another (not including walking around campus or popping into town to get lunch etc). So you guys can imagine the amount of people I see, bump into and sometimes even have a chat with whilst waiting at the bus stop.

I was having a really bad day, was late catching the bus which meant my first lecture was missed, I didn’t have the right change, left my glasses at home and on top of that, the weather was terrible. At that moment, I was a person full of rage; falling asleep 5 in the morning didn’t exactly help anything either. No ones fault but mine. It was only 10:30 am and I wanted my day to be over already.

I put my hood up, walked to the back of the bus and sat down. At the next stop, an elderly man came and sat next to me. Out of respect I put my hood down. (Just so he knew I wasn’t a scary teenager lol). He looked at me, and gave me the biggest smile ever. I couldn’t help but smile back; he started talking about the typical British weather and how he was off to see his  Son. I told him I was off to University, he asked me about work – and when I told him I’m a Radio presenter, his face lit up. He was intrigued and asked me about a hundred questions regarding life experiences before he had to get off at his stop.

A conversation of 20 minutes with a stranger, had left me so enlightened. He share10399568_1704318853177500_8255575656472262882_nd his experiences of life and spoke about how education is such a big factor in life.

I didn’t feel anger any more. The fact that someone was interested in what I did and how hard I had worked, automatically made me feel better. If he hadn’t smiled, we wouldn’t have had that conversation – and I’d still be a angry, moody Margaret who would have had the worst day ever. 

I’ve been reading the book 40 Stories of the Prophet (PBUH) by Muhammad Din Sialvi ❤ and in there he explains why smiling is important:

In order to obliterate anger, to alleviate tension and to end an environment of emotional charge and suspense, a smile can play a significant role… The Messenger of Allah (PBUH) was a very brave individual. He had the courage to smile even in the most difficult of situations and it was never in him to become angered and nor to seek revenge over petty issues (2013, p111-112). 

Something as small as someone smiling at you, can change your whole mood. 

With love, .~A♡
—Asfa Aftab
 ❥

8 thoughts on “SMILE

  1. I just discovered your blog and I absolutely love it! Keep up the good work!!! This particular post really resonated with me because I once had a similar experience earlier this year I was riding the bus to university and my day wasn’t going too well and right in front of me there was an elderly lady sitting and staring right at me. I initially thought to myself to just look down and ignore her but then I decide that the least I could do was giver a smile. At her stop she smiled and wished me well before exiting the bus. It really made me realize the power of a simple smile and your post is a beautiful reminder of this!

Leave a Reply

